Some of My Favorite (Yummy) Things

30Mar10

I’ve pretty much dedicated this blog to proving you don’t have to eat boring microwaved food with tiny portions in order to diet successfully. You don’t NEED to have food delivered to your doorstep in expensive, prepackaged portions. You don’t need to give up the best things in life – ice cream, chocolate, Mexican (er, well, American-Mexican) food, et cetera. I’ve decided to prove it, too, by sharing some of my most favorite discoveries. They’ve made dieting a real pleasure and I look forward to using them when I start maintaining my weight loss in the future.

Julie’s Low Fat Chocolate Frozen Yogurt130 calories per serving

I’m starting off with this item because, folks, it is spectacular. So many things to love.

(1) Low-fat and low-cal.
(2) Small company.
(3) AMAZING flavor. Better, in my opinion, than full-fat/full-cal ice creams. I cannot over-emphasize my delight in this discovery. I buy it at Top Foods and I’ve heard you can get it at Whole Foods as well. Jury’s out on Trader Joe’s.

Ciao Bella 98 calories per serving

Another fairly small company, Ciao Bella makes not just superb sorbets, but also some outstanding gelato. This blood orange sorbet is high in vitamin C, low in calories, absent fat, and the flavor is like a sunburst on your tongue. I alternate between Julie’s and Ciao Bella – they are equals. You can find Ciao Bella at most standard grocery stores (including Safeway and Top Foods).

Ghirardelli Intense Dark (72%) Cacao Squares55 calories per square

Dark chocolate is good for you, people. Like most things, it just requires a bit of moderation. That’s what makes this chocolate and chocolate format ideal. Each square is a trifling 55 calories, comes individually packaged to reduce the likelihood of a binge (I carry one in my purse when I go out and about), and makes a fine showing in terms of flavor. Studies suggest that a serving this size, once a day, has the same effect as an anti-depressant on light or seasonal depression. So treat yourself!

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray0 calories per serving

Oh yes, it’s ALL chemicals. We can all agree that nothing beats real butter, but when you just need a spritz for buttering your toast, moistening your bread, oiling a pan, or buttering an item about to be pan-friend – nothing beats this spray. It has zero calories, has a great buttery flavor, and helps you cut some extra calories.

Oroweat Double Fiber Bread70 calories per slice

This bread has large slices, low fat, high fiber, great flavor, and comes light on calories. I love it, we eat it every day, and we will keep eating it for years to come! If you haven’t tried it yet, I encourage you to do so.

Laughing Cow Light Spreadable Cheese Wedges35 calories per wedge

I love cheese. I just do. While this item is a tad high in sodium, it offers a sizable portion of calcium and cheesy flavor with a low calorie cost. Me? I make a piece of toast in the morning, spread an entire wedge on top (just 35 calories, remember!), and put hard-boiled egg slices on top of THAT. Decadent, delicious, and a great way to kick off my morning. Oh, did I mention? Goes great as a replacement for cheese on your sandwich (really).

Kirkland Diet Green Tea0 calories per serving

I am a sucker for beverages. I do not enjoy the flavor of water. While this drink has some obvious drawbacks (it contains aspartame, for example), it DOES actually contain green tea, which among other pros, stimulates your metabolism. And the taste? Not lacking.

Have any suggestions of your own? I’d love to hear them!

No Responses Yet to “Some of My Favorite (Yummy) Things”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

